Flex max 60

A place to post images of your OutBack Power System

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Flex max 60

Postby Carpapamba on Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:37 am

Hi,

I am having a problem with the Flex max 60, seams that early morning if I charge the batteries 100%, the controller finds the panel input and wakes up, and it works for an hour or so and then the PV volts drop lower than the battery volts and the controller goes to sleep.

Any ideas of what it could be ? It does not wake up again with a whole day of full sun.
Carpapamba
Forum Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:30 am
My RE system: Flemax 60
VFX 2812

Re: Flex max 60

Postby jguzman on Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:53 am

Hello,
Typically this is an indication of low irradiance or possibly a loose connection. Your solar array should maintain the voltage up to its Vmp.

Jorge
Jorge Guzman
Technical Support Supervisor


Watch easy to follow video tutorials:
https://www.youtube.com/c/wattschool
User avatar
jguzman
OutBack Technical Service
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 9:44 am
Location: Arlington, WA
My RE system: VFXR3524A, FM80, MATE3. 3x 260W REC. 4x Trojan L16 FLA 370Ah.

Re: Flex max 60

Postby Carpapamba on Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:07 am

Thanks for the response Jorge,
I just checked connections and they seem to be good, and controller is sleeping in the middle of the day with full sun..., it reads IN 9v and OUT 12.2v. I am with default settings is there anything I should change ?

Mathias
Carpapamba
Forum Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:30 am
My RE system: Flemax 60
VFX 2812

Re: Flex max 60

Postby Mike Curran on Mon Feb 26, 2018 2:24 pm

Carpapamba wrote:Thanks for the response Jorge,
I just checked connections and they seem to be good, and controller is sleeping in the middle of the day with full sun..., it reads IN 9v and OUT 12.2v. I am with default settings is there anything I should change ?

Hey Mathias - IN 9V is the voltage coming in from your array. There's something wrong there, that should be a lot higher. What is the arrangement of your solar panels, and what is their rated maximum/peak voltage per panel (Vmp, as Jorge calls it)?

For example you might have 3 panels wired in series. If each has a rated Vmp of 16V then 3 in series should give you about IN = 48V under ideal conditions, probably something less in real world. Anyway should be much higher than 9V if the sun is shining, I don't think they make panels rated for Vmp less than 16 volts anymore. Unless your system is very old...
Mike Curran
Forum Czar
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio
My RE system: Outback:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one MX60
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80
- 2 grid-tied GVFX3524's classic stacked for 120/240VAC
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah
- Hub10.3, Mate3, FNDC, RTS, OpticsRE. Tigo Energy ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar:
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied.

Re: Flex max 60

Postby Carpapamba on Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:00 am

Hi Mike,

I am puzzled by it as well, here is a picture of the screen at 7am the controller wakes u and starts charging but I send you another picture at 11.30 am when the controller goes to sleep for the rest of the day
Attachments
IMG_6459.JPG
7 am picture
Carpapamba
Forum Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:30 am
My RE system: Flemax 60
VFX 2812

Re: Flex max 60

Postby Carpapamba on Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:02 am

here is the second picture,

thanks so much for your help it is much appreciated.
Attachments
IMG_6460.JPG
picture at 11.30am
Carpapamba
Forum Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:30 am
My RE system: Flemax 60
VFX 2812

Re: Flex max 60

Postby Mike Curran on Mon Mar 05, 2018 10:42 am

Mathias - Can you fill in your profile, especially the size and electrical arrangement of your solar panels? I can tell you have a 12 volt battery from your inverter model, but can't tell what output to expect from your solar array from the info you've provided so far. Also, what are your battery specs? For example, in my system I have 12, 2 volt batteries wired in series for 24 volts total, and they are rated for 1,766 amp-hours. What kind of battery arrangement do you have?

If your system worked before and has suddenly started "misbehaving" then Jorge's advice to look for bad connections is the route I'd continue to pursue. In any event, those IN voltage readings are way too low to charge your 12 volt battery. And you're not showing any charging current, which makes it look like there's an open or very poor connection in your array to battery wiring somewhere.

- Mike
Mike Curran
Forum Czar
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio
My RE system: Outback:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one MX60
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80
- 2 grid-tied GVFX3524's classic stacked for 120/240VAC
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah
- Hub10.3, Mate3, FNDC, RTS, OpticsRE. Tigo Energy ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar:
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied.

Re: Flex max 60

Postby Carpapamba on Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:17 pm

Hi Mike,

Yes I have had the system for some 10 years but we lived in a yurt with 1 solar pannel and a 400watt wind turbine and 2 12v batteries..., I had a small charge controller then for the pannel, as we moved to the house I updated the controller thinking I will grow th system to 4 pannels and scince I made the change it has not been working well. here is the picture of the pannel and the batteries
Attachments
IMG_6462.JPG
Carpapamba
Forum Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:30 am
My RE system: Flemax 60
VFX 2812

Re: Flex max 60

Postby Carpapamba on Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:18 pm

This is the battery bank
Attachments
IMG_6465.JPG
Carpapamba
Forum Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:30 am
My RE system: Flemax 60
VFX 2812

Re: Flex max 60

Postby Mike Curran on Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:04 pm

So you still have just the one panel, and still 2, 12 volt batteries? I can't read the specs on your battery but that one panel alone probably isn't sufficient to recharge your batteries. Maybe the wind turbine was doing most of the charging before. Do you still have it connected to your new setup?

But, you still should see some current flow from the panel, through your FM60, into your batteries. If you have a voltmeter I would try disconnecting the panel from the FM60 and measuring the voltage from the panel, just to make sure it's working. Maybe the panel was damaged in the move?

If you no longer have the wind turbine then you definitely need more panels.
Mike Curran
Forum Czar
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:28 pm
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio
My RE system: Outback:
- 8 (2x4) Evergreen 180's into one MX60
- 6 (2×3) ALEO S79-300's into one FM80
- 2 grid-tied GVFX3524's classic stacked for 120/240VAC
- 12 Surrette/Rolls 2V x 1766Ah
- Hub10.3, Mate3, FNDC, RTS, OpticsRE. Tigo Energy ES maximizers on each PV module.

Westinghouse Solar:
- 30 (2x15) 235W panels with Enphase M215 microinverters, grid-tied.


Return to My OutBack Power System

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron