Flexmax80

General Talk

Moderators: OutBack, OutBack Moderator Team

Post Reply
ksdav125
Forum Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:19 pm
My RE system: Radian 220 volt off-grid inverter, 2 80Flexmax, Mate3, a bunch of panels

Flexmax80

Post by ksdav125 » Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:36 pm

I have 2 paired Flexmax80s. They were working fine but now only one or the other will carry the load. I can get either one to work but not at the same time-one carries the entire load.

fcwlp
Forum Czar
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:40 am
My RE system: GS8048A, FM80 w/3,600 W PV Fixed, FM80 w/2,700W on Zomeworks tracker, Mate3, 24 Trojan 2V L16 1100AH @ C20, Grid-Tied with Kohler 14RESA LPG Generator and MEP-803 Diesel if needed
I also install and maintain grid-tied and off-grid systems, details will be given for these system if required
Location: 80 miles NE of Phoenix at 5500'

Re: Flexmax80

Post by fcwlp » Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:55 pm

Welcome,

I assume your "bunch of panels" are split into two groups each connected to one of the FM80s.

I would take a look at the voltage calibration between the two FM80s and make sure they are both displaying the correct battery voltage. Also, while it seems obvious, make sure they are both programmed to the same bulk & float voltages and end amps settings.

User avatar
EA6LE-ONE
Forum Guru
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:51 am
My RE system: System 1:
MATE3s, 3 x Radian GS8048A,
4 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10,
2 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 4 x FLEXware ICS Plus,
54 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W

System 2:
MATE3s, 2 x VFX3648,
2 x FLEXmax 100, HUB10
1 x EnergyCell 48V 2700RE,
1 x FLEXnet DC, 2 x FLEXware ICS
21 x PANASONIC VBHN325SA17 325W
Location: Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Isl.

Re: Flexmax80

Post by EA6LE-ONE » Sat Aug 08, 2020 4:39 am

ksdav125 wrote:
Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:36 pm
I have 2 paired Flexmax80s. They were working fine but now only one or the other will carry the load. I can get either one to work but not at the same time-one carries the entire load.
if the battery is in absorb and doesn't need too much power to stay in absorb then float, only one of the CCs is pushing the most power while the other one is reducing the output. I have the same with my FM100s. if you sell to grid, then the voltage settings are not set correctly.

Post Reply